News & Media

WiSys honors three innovators

MADISON—Two students and one professor will receive the Carl E. Gulbrandsen Innovator of the Year Award in 2019.

The awards will be given at WSTS, a two-day UW System-focused research and innovation symposium that will be held at UW-Stout July 22-23.

This year’s honorees include:

The Carl E. Gulbrandsen Innovator of the Year Award is presented to a UW System faculty, staff member or student making exemplary contributions as a WiSys Innovator. The award, given in conjunction with WSTS, was created to honor the former managing director of the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation who supported WiSys throughout his 16-year tenure.

WiSys is a nonprofit organization that works with faculty, staff, students and alumni of the UW System to facilitate cutting-edge research programs, develop and commercialize discoveries, and foster a spirit of innovative and entrepreneurial thinking across the state.