News & Media

WiSys names UW-Eau Claire’s Glogowski 2020 Innovator of the Year

For exemplary contributions to Wisconsin innovation, WiSys honors UW-Eau Claire’s Dr. Elizabeth Glogowski as a 2020 Carl E. Gulbrandsen Innovator of the Year.

Glogowski, an associate professor of materials science and engineering, has been an active member in building a culture of innovation at UW-Eau Claire and throughout the UW System.

“It is my absolute pleasure to commend Dr. Glogowski on being named Innovator of the Year,” stated UW-Eau Claire Chancellor Jim Schmidt. “UW-Eau Claire hangs its hat on the fact that we’re a premiere undergraduate research university – and it’s our exceptional faculty like Dr. Glogowski that make it happen. Our students, faculty and staff benefit daily from her work as does the entire state of Wisconsin! We’re very proud and congratulate her on this spectacular honor!”

At UW-Eau Claire, Dr. Glogowski mentors a student team in research aimed at decreasing the cost and environmental impact of architectural coatings such as paints, primers and stains.

Earlier this year, Glogowski was one of three UW System faculty recognized as a 2020 Regent Scholar. The honor comes with an award of up to $50,000 to be used to support innovative faculty-student research projects that ultimately drive economic development.

“We’re continually impressed with Dr. Glogowski’s work as a researcher and an educator of undergraduate researchers,” said WiSys President Arjun Sanga. “She is a shining example of the excellence available throughout Wisconsin at UW’s regional comprehensive campuses.”

Glogowski has also worked with WiSys for intellectual property protections on a number of inventions emanating from her research at UW-Eau Claire.

Glogowski received a M.S. and Ph.D. in polymer science & engineering from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and a B.S. in chemistry, as well as french, from Carnegie Mellon University.

The Carl E. Gulbrandsen Innovator of the Year Award is presented to a UW System faculty, staff member or student making exemplary contributions as an innovator. The award was created to honor the former managing director of the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation who supported WiSys throughout his 16-year tenure.

WiSys also recognizes UW-Parkside Assistant Professor Francis “Frannie” Mann and a UW Oshkosh student team of Jessica Tarter, Parker Schmidt and Macall Hill as 2020 Innovators of the Year.

WiSys is a nonprofit organization that works with faculty, staff, students and alumni of the UW System to facilitate cutting-edge research programs, develop and commercialize discoveries, and foster a spirit of innovative and entrepreneurial thinking across the state. In 2020, WiSys universities were second in SMU’s national Innovation Impact Productivity Rankings for smaller research universities.